A mystery photograph

Mystery-ship-sun-bedsOn a recent visit to a local postcard fair, I managed to purchase this atmospheric real photo postcard taken on board a mystery ship. I love these photographs because they make me want to take a walk along the deck, maybe rest a while in a sun bed, or just watch the open sea. Where are the passengers? Perhaps all taking lunch, or maybe on a shore excursion?

There are very few clues, but what got me most interested was the back. I have a small collection of 1920s photographs by New Zealand Shipping Company barber/photographer Henry George Keyse. Some of his photographs feature the back style shown below, and this mystery photograph has the same back. Now I don’t even know if it is a New Zealand Shipping Company vessel, and it is my great hope that one of the readers of this blog will be able to help me out. I have reproduced the whole postcard which you can click to see a larger image, and also a selection of close up areas which I hope will act as little clues to, as Hercule Poirot would say, get your little grey cells working!

Please, if you can help in any way, give me your views in a comment.

This is the back of a Henry Keyse postcard from the 1920s. The postcard above has the same back style, including the sun logo, but without the publisher text on the left hand side.

This is the back of a Henry Keyse postcard from the 1920s. The postcard above has the same back style, including the sun logo, but without the publisher text on the left hand side.

 

Please leave a comment, especially if you have found a relative on the shipping lists

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.